Seriously, how obvious is NLD?

I’m needfully curious.  In what situations can people identify the possibility that someone has NLD?  Even if they’ve never heard of this LD, what signs show up the most?  How is it different depending on the situation:

-stranger on the street you don’t end up talking to

-cashier you buy something from

-someone at a store who asks if you need help finding anything

-stranger who asks you for directions

-casual acquaintance you’ve talked to 1-3 times

-someone you speak to on the phone, trying to answer some quick questions

-a friend you haven’t yet disclosed your NLD to

-your relatives, who may or may not know of your condition

-teachers at your school

-someone who has the definition of NLD, but not a working understanding

-the transit operator, as you take a full two minutes to search for your trip fare

-people you barely make eye contact with

-a potential employer deciding against NLD person due to (they won’t say it directly and will likely find a non-related reason) one’s different mannerisms

I’d like to do a survey, but would need to use different techniques than traditional ones, to answer this question.  I need to know because my bias is very significant, plus I can’t step outside my NLD.  It’s part of me.  Still, I don’t know where NLD ends and I begin, or vice versa.  It’s just the way my life is.

2 Responses to “Seriously, how obvious is NLD?”

  1. Patrick .J Says:

    Okay…

    I don’t quite understand you on the one about the stranger on the street or about the cashier. Can you elaborate?

    I can’t give directions very well at all.

    The casual acquaintance might tell something’s up.

    I don’t like phone calls. It might be because I used to stutter when asked ‘on the spot’ questions.

    A friend will see something more than the casual acquaintance obviously.

    My relatives know of my condition, but it doesn’t come up very much with non immediate relatives, considering we live in different states. My parents can detect it easily. But I am much more comfortable with family than with friends, if that makes a difference.

    I’ve been homeschooled for the last four years. Teachers previously did not know very much at all about it and some would not take the time to learn about it.

    A definition of NLD is not sufficient for knowing how to work or converse with the NLDer without feeling slightly put of by him/her. Details and examples must be conveyed.

    The transit operator (and the people behind you) will most likely not think of a learning disorder. “Inconsiderate” will probable come to mind.

    The same about eye contact, but the lack of eye contact will be understood one NLD is explained. I, for one, rarely make eye contact with people I talk to. Who knows what they may think of me…

    The employer problem probably happens a lot.

    Hope those help!

    Patrick

  2. hannahcamille Says:

    I will read your note over again; it has good observations. The list of things was just some random situations. They are related in that all are potentially awkward for someone with visual-spatial issues (but not for everyone or all the time, of course).

    I’ll try to describe some concrete examples later on. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

