NLD Advocacy: Beyond Diagnosis

One reason I sometimes take left v. right brain quizzes is to learn more about the potential strengths of NLD thought. Too often, NLD discussions gloss over strengths and obsessively describe weaknesses. I support a different approach. It has three components:

A) Individual analysis: NLD has variations. Some of us, as I’ve mentioned before, enjoy studying foreign languages, and some of us find it nearly impossible. Some of our NLD issues closely intersect with other LDs, such as ADD or Asperger’s Syndrome. Other times NLD is the sole most precise description of what we deal with. Some of us received social skill development help at younger ages than others, which makes a big difference in terms of one’s social comfort level. Each person with NLD has some variations. My advice is to both read NLD case studies and get to know several people (obviously those who feel comfortable discussing this issue) who have it.

B) Never forget our strengths and talents: I talk about this a lot, but for wonderful reasons. There are many things we with NLD have aptitude for, things we enjoy so exuberantly that we don’t think to excess about the challenges. As just one example, I know people with NLD who love acting so much they gladly watch movies several times to rehearse movements.

C) Understand and be sensitive to our weaknesses: We are humans with very real emotions and significant challenges. Parents and teachers can help NLD kids by discussing weaknesses individually. Employers can help by scheduling regular meetings and reading about NLD. Ask people you know with NLD what we think about our abilities and what we specifically see as toughest. Too often, NLD discussions are very negative and grim. I beg to respectfully differ. Yes, NLD has some negative potential, but that just means negative things need making into more positive ones. We must focus on what is and can be positive.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “NLD Advocacy: Beyond Diagnosis”

  1. C L Booth Says:

    If you are interested in a good breakdown of hemispheric differences I ran into a really good Neuropsychology text book that is written in really good understandable and accessible language, without needing a lot (or any) background understanding of neurology.

    If you e-mail me I might be able to hook you up with a chapter or two in audio format… I’ll have to see how well I can get my computer system working.

    I’m also plodding through Rourke’s book Syndrome of Nonverbal Learning Disabilities, I’ve gotten to the point that I need to be scanning the book in and listening to it, I might be able to send you updates on that too if you like.

    I only offer because it seems like you are similar to me in needing to really get a hold of and cogitate all this information on NLD.

    • hannahcamille Says:

      That’s for sure. I’m obsessed with putting together information, both to help me and hopefully help other people. I’ll look up those books.

  2. Carol Says:

    Here’s a post about some of the overlapping diagnoses between NLD, Autism, APD, and Vision problems.

    http://journeythroughthecortex.blogspot.com/2010/11/adhd-nld-apd-and-vision-problems-blind.html

Leave a Reply

