NLD and Food Issues

As a child, I was an extremely picky eater.  I stared at combinations of food and could not eat them, let alone chew or swallow.  Many years later, I developed sensitivity to dairy products, which is both genetic and a reaction to my medication (I have a co-occurring chronic medical condition–long story).  As late, I no longer eat dairy, except in trace amounts and situations when I feel that having a few bites is easier than discussing these issues.  I’m a very reserved person.  That’s one reason it took me so long to do a blog.

Then I began my work search and realized how much ignorance there is about NLD and the spectrum.  Since this must change, I must blog.  My food issues obviously add anxiety to the social scene, as does the fact that I don’t drive.  I’m a lax vegan (sometimes eat foods with trace amounts of animal products and can’t give up honey), so I’m learning how to love vegetables.  Some observations follow:

-Bowls are easier to eat from than plates.  Spoons are easier to eat with than forks.

-An NLD person may find it necessary to eat very slowly.  I do, because I don’t want to drop my silverware or spill on myself or the table.

-One food is less overwhelming than several combined ones.

-Sometimes there are foods we just don’t like, and it probably won’t change.  It won’t do any good to try and force a kid to eat; it will just lead to future anxiety, and worse, future eating issues (will be blogged on later).

-It may be that warm or room temperatures are more easily tolerated (obviously depends on food and season) than cold or chilled.

-Kids with NLD should be encouraged to learn cooking skills.  Find pictures of recipes whenever possible.

-Use hidden food techniques if needed, but also have kids help with cooking.

More on this in the future.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “NLD and Food Issues”

  1. C L Booth Says:

    I am not too sure I agree with you on the food, I have NLD and my taste and smell sense are very hyper sensitive. But, at the same time, I have never had food aversion or been a picky eater. Though, along those lines, meal time as I grew up, was the only really happy time for me. My NLD (undiagnosed) got in the way of literally every other possibly positive interaction I had with people I should have been able to trust. So at this point, food and eating are a comfort, and while I am REALLY good at identifying ingredients and how things were cooked, and finding foods that compliment each other (I would make an UBER good food critic), I have never had much of a food aversion.

    I wonder if your food aversions, might have a combined effect much like mine. You have the hypersensitivity, but instead of very positive things being associated with it, you have negative feedback through your genetic allergies.

    Or, maybe my positive associations overrode possible aversions. I’m not sure, but I wanted to throw that out there.

    BTW I like your blog, it is actually really helping me develop some good perspective on similarities and differences between NLD’ers. I hope you don’t mind my inserting my comments and feedback if I agree or disagree.

    • hannahcamille Says:

      Thanks. I’m glad there are areas where we don’t agree. I’m tired of NLD information saying we’re all the same.

      Interesting that you also find taste and smell hypersensitive. I’m glad it’s possible to have NLD and not be a picky eater. If one isn’t, that’s wonderful.

Leave a Reply

