NLD Angst

When things get really hard–either a bad day or chronic problem–I tend to get NLD angst. This feeling involves the following emotions, give or take:

-Frustration from being misunderstood

-Anxiety that society is largely biased against the things people with LDs do well

-Fear of what I don’t understand, but am still responsible for

-Apprehension of not knowing what to do next, but being required to respond (or not respond)

-Worries about challenges of social-relating (i.e., I don’t network easily, and it’s tough to make friends, much as I try to pretend it isn’t; a lost friend is a quandary for anyone, but doubly or triply challenging for someone with NLD, who will require more time to find new friends)

-Worries about rejection (again, a larger problem for individuals with NLD due to having trouble responding to an event)

-General knowledge that one side of my brain is not caught up with the other side

When I was growing up, I didn’t know I had NLD, so I suffered in my social relating but didn’t know why. If I could help parents, teachers, and children, I would say this (and will add to it in future posts):

-Involve child with other kids as much as possible, but not to the point of overwhelming them

-Watch for signs of fatigue, anxiety, and social overwhelm

-Teach child it’s OK to not attend every social event

-Teach child how to begin and end conversations, and that it’s OK to make mistakes

-Teach child how to explain themselves

More later.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “NLD Angst”

  1. Monica Says:

    Dear Hannah Camille.
    Just a little supporting comment to your blog which I read with interest. There are many good issues and advice that I, as a mother to a newly diagnosed NLD child, can use. Keep up the good work 😀

    • hannahcamille Says:

      Thanks for your note. I’m very glad this blog can be one of your resources for dealing with your child’s NLD. There aren’t enough resources, and hopefully discussing our stories will create a living community that brings support to us and those yet to be diagnosed.

    • hannahcamille Says:

      I’m really glad you’re reading this blog. Thank you for your note, and I hope this blog is helpful to you and your child.

Leave a Reply

