NLD and Math Anxiety

I could write at length about this topic, but I won’t just yet.  I won’t be online that much for the next month, because my required stats course begins in just 4 days.  I will have tutoring that the university provides free to all students, twice a week.  The course meets four days a week.  I must get a “C” or higher.  I’m still going to blog in the future, but not as much until this class ends in July.  I will respond to messages, too.  Thanks.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “NLD and Math Anxiety”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I just recently found this site, and I thought I would share my experience living with NLD. When I was younger, I was diagnosed with a severe case of NLD with almost a 60 point IQ difference between my verbal and non-verbal IQ. On my verbal, I was in the genius range above 140, and in my performance range I ended up with around an 85 on my performance IQ test. Since then I have learned to get around many of my difficulties. One thing I haven’t gotten around though is math. I know the concepts, and I know generally how to do the problems and am pretty good at them. I once tried a math tutor who helped me, and I was told that I got the concepts and how to do the problems better then anyone they had ever seen. I think once again its my writing and orgainization difficulties. My teacher this year was horrible, and droned in front of the class all class. I would use a laptop to take notes, but I would always find myself distracted and unable to pay attention to the material. I would do my homework on the computer too, but then I was forced to write the tests. This didn’t work for me. I ended up with a solid B+ for the year in the class, but I know I could have done better. I was on the borderline for an A-, but just didn’t make it.

    So I thought I might ask a few questions of you to see if you have any ideas:

    What can I do to keep myself interested and engaged in material in class even when I think in my head its boring?

    How can I deal with poor teachers that are unwilling to meet the accomadations set by my school?

    What can I do to get past my writing and organization problems if I am not accommodated?

    I can never seem to take responsibility and often end up blaming others for things that frustrate me about my disability, how can I learn to take responsibility for my NLD?

    One thing I have learned about my disability is that typing gets around all the problems of writing and some of the organizational difficulties.

    Its good to finally find someone else with NLD, because I keep my disability quiet, I have never even met someone who I know has NLD other then possibly my father who was diagnosed with Dyslexia before they knew anything about NLD.

    I also run my own website (not really finished at the moment) and enjoy technology, the outdoors, and writing. I hope that you get a chance to reply to this, it would be good to get another person with NLD’s opinion.

    • hannahcamille Says:

      Hi,
      Just wanted to let you know I’m reading your comment and will get back to you. I’m really bogged down by trying to pass statistics for the next several weeks, but I’m thinking through what you wrote and want to respond in detail to your questions. More later. Thanks very much for writing!

Leave a Reply

