NLD and Goosebumps

Sometimes a visual image is too heavy for me, like bedsores and other skin diseases. I think NLD has something to do with the goosebumps I get when I see something I think is gross. Also, things that move around really fast are overwhelming. I used to have rodents for pets, but now I can’t look carefully at most of the rodents in a pet store or humane society, especially guinea pigs. I can’t even look at a guinea pig’s picture without freaking out. I used to have two for pets, but I slowly became almost-phobic as I got older. I hope that parents and other adults who help those with NLD won’t make fun of the anxiety that we with NLD sometimes have. The sources will vary, but it’s best to accept them. Some will be grown out of, and others will develop.

2 Responses to “NLD and Goosebumps”

  1. Karin Blain Says:

    I can not thank you enough for publishing your thoughts and experiences. Your postings are like both rainbows and clouds depending on the subject….and our own experiences.

    My 12 year old daughter was diagnosed last week by a PsyD with “Autism Spectrum/Non-Verbal Learning Disorder/Asperger’s”. He felt certain she was NVLD but placed her on the Autism Spectrum due to some behavioral cues and heightened social issues. Frankly, I don’t understand it all – the technical aspects – but I do want to understand my daughter, and you are helping immensely. Can you help me understand the differences between NVLD and Asperger’s, does it matter – does prognosis change?

    I read this last post on animals that move fast being overwhelming…and for years I have been critical of Beth’s “fear of spiders” – asking her to “be a little more grown up about it”. Now, I understand and I want to squeeze her and say ‘I’m sorry.’ Thank you.

    This is but one tiny example from many of your posts that I find so very helpful.

    My only red flag is that you are obviously quite intelligent and can convey that very easily, at least in writing. My daughter’s IQ tests are low and if that range of intelligence is hiding in there – we haven’t been successful at drawing it out as yet. Are their varying levels of function within NVLD?

    Perhaps I’m bogging you down with questions you don’t care to spend time answering… I’ve searched for 8 years for a diagnosis for Beth – been turned away from so many clinics with referrals to psychiatrists, or sent for yet another CT scan or EEG….. And finally when I could come up with the $2500 on my own to take her for neuropsych testing I received a diagnosis. Now, I’m just unsure where to go with it – how to understand it all – how to help her best.

    Whatever feedback you have would be much appreciated. And again, thank you so very much for your writings.

    • hannahcamille Says:

      I’d say yes, that the prognosis does change over time. A child can develop improved communication skills as parents and educators become aware of what therapies and interventions help most. I’ve heard of the NLD/AS dual diagnosis before, and write elsewhere in the blog about how AS and NLD differ. Lately I’m looking to AS information because there’s not much about NLD . . ..

      It’s totally true that intelligence can hide, for many years, when someone is on the spectrum. I’m sure there are talents yet to be expressed, and the trick is finding out what helps draw them out. There are different severities of NLD, yes, and no neat lines. Someone can definitely have split scores on evaluative tests. I know of someone with William’s Syndrome who has certain NLD features and is now in a music school program. So the IQ score isn’t everything–someone can end up functioning wonderfully with a whole wide range of test scores. Protecting someone from emotional damage in childhood is the mega-issue; IQ isn’t everything, or even close to it. If I could do my childhood again, I would. I spend lots of energy trying to “heal as an adult” in therapy, through writing, and trying to “make sense of it all.” I think getting a dog is a great option for emotional health, if at all possible. The dog would be an instant friend and social connector for your child. Feel free to write in the future, and take care.

Leave a Reply

