NLD’s Tough Introduction

I find it very hard to tell people that I have NLD, despite knowing I’ll have an easier time if I do. In part, I find it awkward to bring up a new subject, particularly one so personal to me. I hate picking out the things I struggle with and putting them into a list. I hate having to explain: this is why I’m abnormally phone-shy, for instance. Most people can effortlessly make a phone call, but I find it scary and challenging. I’d rather send texts. I’d also rather email, of course, than make a call. And I could never work a job that required cold-calling. Familiar calling is tough enough. I was 17 at the time of my diagnosis. I’d be interested to know how old people were when they were diagnosed and how old we are now. I’m very glad for the correspondence I’ve received and am now reading through it. I will respond to each note soon. I wanted to thank every single reader for reading this blog. If there are topics you want me to write about, please tell me. I will do my best to discuss them. More later.

Leave a Reply

