Dyssemia

I am grateful for this word.  I’ve been looking around for a term that would summarize the nonverbal communication troubles, which are indicative of NLD (or a related condition like AS).  “Dyssemia” accomplishes this need.  As I read over the dyseemia checklists, I saw myself as a struggling child, and now as a young adult.  I’m going to use “dyssemia” in my self-introductions now.

My speech prosody makes saying certain things really tough, so I’ll need to get used to pronouncing this word.  To this end, a phrase I’ve been having trouble saying lately is “gross motor skills.” My voice catches on words and phrases here and there.  It’s hard, but I’m trying to train myself to smile more.  I don’t want to smirk, but if I can manage to smile, it looks less gloomy and grim.

This disorder is a constant set of challenges.  I’m sighing right now.  I have struggles within myself, and then other people struggle to understand me in a best-case.  Worst-case is when someone doesn’t even try to understand.  Having said this, I recently realized something very useful: when strangers see me, they see the contradiction between my motor skills and verbal skills, and not knowing me or my history, they don’t know what to think.

I hope more people can learn about NLD and similar problems so we don’t have to feel misunderstood as much.  We have much to contribute to society and the world if we and those around us encourage our strengths while helping us deal with our weaknesses as needed.

Leave a Reply

