Happy 2011

Hi Everyone,
I am so thankful you read this blog and tell me your thoughts on it. We’re finally getting information on what it’s like to have NLD–and ideas for how to deal with it–out there. And thank goodness.

It’s time for the world to see this learning disability as part of the human condition. Our difficulties are simply more visible in our learning differences. We have significant struggles, but we’re also acutely sensitive to feelings, and we can do very important things for society.

Soon I’m off to a social gathering. Being someone with NLD, I have mixed feelings. I want to be included, but am not sure I’ll have the energy, and I know I’m going to run into speech issues, like speed bumps, as I try to participate in discussions. Again, my profound thanks for your reading of my blog and your correspondence! I’ll write back if you comment. Thanks! 🙂

2 Responses to “Happy 2011”

  1. Gayle Lopez Says:

    Hi, I read your blog and was wondering when you were diagnosed with NLD. My 21 yr old dghtr just received this diagnosis. She has struggled with school, was previously diagnosed with ADD, and LD in reading. She dropped out of college, and is floundering. All other blogs I have read so far, NLD has been diagnosed very young. Not sure where to go from here. Any pointers would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

    • hannahcamille Says:

      Hello Gayle,
      I was diagnosed just before I turned 18. I benefited greatly from community college classes, which helped me transfer to regular college later. Your daughter might find this environment positive–they meet you where you’re at, and are happy to provide help with things like math classes. She could also do volunteer work to help identify career interests. And if she’s not receiving supportive help right now, it sounds like she could really benefit from professional help, hopefully from someone familiar with NLD. Have her sign up for just one class so she’s engaged in a regular activity that’s not too overwhelming. Encourage her–you can always make up for low grades by taking more classes. I took one math class 3 times. Hope this is useful. I’ll be glad to hear about your progress. -HCE

Leave a Reply

