Clumsy School “Accommodations”

I was recently in a class where I received accommodations. I couldn’t easily meet the participation requirement, as we were assigned oral presentations. I was given permission to make a virtual poster in lieu of speaking to the class.

On presentation day, the teacher highlighted new technologies that enhance remote posters. If he’d told me, I would’ve used the prerecorded voice option, but he hadn’t told me, and I was docked points later.

I still did really well–we with NLD are often really good students–but didn’t feel satisfied with a presentation that could’ve gone better with the technological features. But I didn’t know, so I have to leave it at that. Still, teachers need to think through accommodations and how they will play out, how they will feel to the student.

Too often, they don’t think about it enough. And I am complaining because I’ve seen it happen time after time. Have you had similar problems? Thanks for reading and listening to this.

2 Responses to “Clumsy School “Accommodations””

  1. misspiggy Says:

    Hello, I’m a new reader and I find your blog very interesting. I’m a teacher myself and I can sympathise with how you felt. It might help to think about how you can use the experience to benefit you in the future. Quite often teachers struggle with how much direct help to give students and how much space they should give them to find things out for themselves. When teachers are making accommodations it’s even harder to know how to get the balance right. This can make teachers feel frustrated, which can make them less willing to be helpful.

    What you want is for your teacher to feel comfortable about trying out ways to help you participate. If the teacher can come to feel that making accommodations to help you learn well is all part of an interesting experiment, they should be much more supportive.

    So if another situation like the one you describe came up again, you could thank the teacher for giving the information (e.g. about prerecorded voice), and say that it will be useful in the future. Ask where that information came from so that you can look into it more. That might help the teacher feel good about helping you, and they will hopefully be reminded that you are interested to receive more helpful information in the future.

    I know that this type of thing is not easy, but thinking of ways to help your teachers to feel good about working with you could make your life a lot easier in the long run.

    • hannahcamille Says:

      Hi there,
      Thanks for your ideas–sounds like you’re a good teacher and many parents and students will happy to work with you. You know a great deal! Thanks again. I’ve had so many teachers who have not cared, so hearing your suggestions is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

